Date: 1st June 2016 at 4:05pm
Written by:

Walsall are represented in the Football League’s, League One, Team Of The Season that has been selected after the end of the current campaign.

With all the Play Off Finals now decided and the football pyramid from the Premier League down to League Two set for the coming 2016/17 season, the Football League have announced their divisional Teams of the campaign.

The performances by Rico Henry and Romaine Sawyers in 2015/16 saw them acknowledged in the final eleven + manager selection.

Explaining the choice, the FL blurb read.


‘One of the brightest prospects in The Football League, 18-year-old Henry has become a pivotal part of Walsall’s team and picked up the League’s Young Player of the Month award in September.’


‘A series of dominant displays in the Walsall midfield throughout the season won Sawyers plaudits across the division, and he was second in the Player of the Year vote.’

The full team selected was:

Jon McLaughlin (Burton Albion), Rico Henry (Walsall), Craig Morgan (Wigan Athletic), Stephen Darby (Bradford City), John Mousinho (Burton Albion), Bradley Dack (Gillingham), Romaine Sawyers (Walsall), Yanic Wildschut (Wigan Athletic), Nicky Ajose (Swindon Town), Will Grigg (Wigan Athletic), Lee Gregory (Millwall).

Manager – Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic).