Date: 28th November 2016 at 2:06pm
Written by:

Walsall are represented in the latest Football League team of the week that has been selected after this week’s action.

The performance by Neil Etheridge in the scoreless draw with Southend United at the weekend at the Banks’s Stadium was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the Football League pyramid.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why Etheridge was selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the FL blurb read.

‘Etheridge produced save upon save to thwart Southend United and help Walsall to a point at the Banks’s Stadium. Nile Ranger, Anthony Wordsworth and Stephen McLaughlin were among those denied by the Saddlers’ stopper.’

It’s always good to see the club represented in this way, and well played to Etheridge for his recognition, but the most important thing about the weekend was of course the point.

Full Team:

Neil Etheridge (Walsall), Tom Smith (Swindon Town), Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers), Ryan Shotton (Birmingham City), Scott Wagstaff (Gillingham), Luke Gambin (Barnet), Ed Upson (MK Dons), Henri Lansbury (Nottingham Forest), Jay O’Shea (Chesterfield), Scott Kasket (Wycombe Wanderers), Charlie Wyke (Carlisle United).

Manager – John McGreal (Colchester United).