Date: 11th June 2018 at 3:44pm
Written by:

The first round of the Carabao Cup (League Cup to me and you) will be drawn this Friday at 10:45am.

The draw will be made in Vietnam (no idea why we can’t draw it in the UK) and the Saddlers will be ball number thirty-five in the Northern section of the draw.

The draw numbers for the Northern section are as follows

1. Accrington Stanley

2. Barnsley

3. Blackburn Rovers

4. Blackpool

5. Bolton

6. Bradford

7. Burton Albion

8. Bury

9. Carlisle

10. Crewe

11. Derby

12. Doncaster

13. Fleetwood

14. Grimsby

15. Hull

16. Leeds

17. Lincoln

18. Macclesfield Town

19. Mansfield

20. Middlesbrough

21. Morecambe

22. Nottingham Forest

23. Notts County

24. Oldham

25. Port Vale

26. Preston

27. Rochdale

28. Rotherham

29. Scunthorpe

30. Sheffield United

31. Sheffield Wednesday

32. Shrewsbury

33. Sunderland

34. Tranmere

35. Walsall

36. Wigan

Ties will be played week commencing 13th August.

Neighbours Aston Villa, WBA and Birmingham City are all in the southern section of the draw so we will end up with our annual League Cup game against Sheffield United or Nottingham Forest.

EFL clubs have voted to remove extra time from every round, apart from the Final, from the start of the 2018/19 season, with matches tied at 90 minutes going straight to a penalty shoot-out. The 2019 Final will feature extra time and penalties if required.

The format of penalties will revert to the traditional format, as opposed to the recently trialled ABBA formula, which will no longer feature in EFL competitions.

VAR will again be utilised in the competition and can be incorporated for all games that are played at Premier League stadiums.

This season’s Final will take place on Sunday 24 February 2019 with the winners guaranteed a place in the Europa League in the following campaign.